Tags

, , , , ,

Ok, so my stress level has been through the roof lately. My apologies for not posting the last few day! To be quite honest I’ve hardly cooked anything worth telling you about. All that said t5hough. I did experiment with some of the random ingredients in my fridge and come up with some pretty great and very healthy meat balls. It was entirely a case of “there’s stuff in my fridge that needs to get used” that made me think to put kale in the meat balls. And I’m glad I did because they came out great!

I served mine over angler hair pasta and a simple tomato sauce.

Kale and Turkey Meatballs

2 c kale, chopped and uncooked

¼ medium onion, chopped

Dash dry rosemary, basil, thyme, parsley

2 Tbs balsamic vinegar

1 tbs olive oil

1 lb ground turkey

3 cloves garlic

1 egg

In a medium sauté pan over medium-high heat sauté the onion, kale, spices, vinegar and oil. Cook until greens are completely wilted.

Put cooked greens mixture and garlic into a food processor and pulse until well chopped. Add remaining ingredients and pulse until fully combine.

Form 1 inch balls and drop into a hot, well oiled pan (I used the same one I cooked the kale in) and cook until browned.

