Tags

, , , , , ,

Red Velvet Rum Cake

I have entirely failed at bloging in the last two week. so, serious apologies to everyone for being such a slacker. Life continues to be completely crazy; including, but not limited to not having water in the apartment twice in a week, and being with out internet one night. But enough, less griping and more food, right!

This is the cake my sweetie requested for his birthday. He wanted a combination of red velvet and rum cake, so I gave it a shot! It turned out pretty good if I do say so my self! The cake itself could have been a little fluffier, which I think might have something to do with the fact that I didn’t use the buttermilk. Not 100% sure though. Please let me know if you make it with the buttermilk, I would love to know how it does.

Slice of Red Velvet Rum Cake

Red Velvet -Rum Cake (recipe adapted from Bakerella)

2 1/2 c flour
2 c sugar
3 Tbl cocoa
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking soda*
2 eggs
3/4 c oil
1/2 c vanilla soy milk
1 c dark rum
2 oz. red food coloring

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease (I used shortening) and flour two round 8 in cake pans.

Gently whisk eggs and slowly add the other liquid ingredients and set aside.

In a large mixer bowl combine all the dry ingredients and stir together.

Combine the wet and dry ingredients and mix thoroughly (mix on medium for about five minutes). Pour batter into cake pan.

Bake for about 30 minutes.

Let cool before you frost anything.

*I think you need to add more baking soda to compensate for the buttermilk substitution.

Walnut-Rum Sauce

3 tbs butter

2/3 c chopped walnuts

1/3 c dark brown sugar

1 c dark rum

1 tbs flour

Cook all the ingredients together for 20 to 25 minutes, over medium high heat.

To make cake:

Once the cake has cooled completely top the first layer with walnut rum sauce. Place the second layer on top. Cover both layers with cream cheese frosting. Top cake with any remaining rum sauce you have.

