Tags

, , , , ,

Please ignore the paper bowl… I took this with my phone at work because I forgot to sNap a pic the night I made this!

So, I have a new cooking love – I’ve been using it in everything lately. I’m not even entirely sure what stated it. A recipe from Pinterest maybe… like I said, I’m not really sure. But Greek yogurt has entered my kitchen and I’ve been using it like crazy (in enchiladas, salad dressing, appetizers, smoothies, and more)!

So, when I was trying to think of a healthy and tasty side for dinner I came up with this: Mediterranean Couscous Salad. Basically, I don’t love couscous by itself; I find it a bit dry. I’m always trying to think of ways to creamy it up a bit, without making it outrageously unhealthy. Plus we still have a billion cucumbers in the fridge and the tomatoes are starting to come in! Thus this dish was born. It is very quick and easy to make and the hubby and I both got seconds. I’m thinking this would actually be a good bbq side, light and fresh but still very tasty.

Mediterranean Couscous Salad

1 box couscous (prepare according to directions)
2/3 c plain Greek yogurt
1/3 c crumbled feta
¼ c grated parmesan
2-3 Tbs lemon juice
1 tsp capers, minced
2 tsp garlic olive oil
Healthy dash black pepper, garlic powder, oregano and dill
1 cucumber, chopped
3 small tomatoes, chopped (we used our Romas)

In a medium bowl whisk together the yogurt, feta, parmesan, lemon juice, capers, olive oil, and spices (adjust spices to your personal preference). Stir in the cucumber and tomato. Add cooked couscous and thoroughly combine.

Can be served warm or chilled – I enjoyed it both ways!

