Tags

, , , ,

Golden Puffs

When I woke up Sunday morning, I wasn’t thinking “hey, I want to fry something.” I was actually thinking “those bananas need to become banana bread before I have to throw them out” (well, that and I really need some coffee). Warm cup of coffee in hand I fetched my beloved Betty Crocker cookbook. However, when I flipped it open, it was the recipe on the page opposite the banana bread that caught my eye. I kept looking at it and thinking “no, I can’t deep fry, I never fry things, I don’t have a thermometer, I can’t.” Only the recipe kept calling to me and kept drawing my gaze. And so… I gave in.

Preperations

It was a bit scary to pour an entire bottle of vegetable oil into my big kettle. I haven’t done that, ever! But pour it in I did, and let it heat up while I whipped up the batter. Am I ever glad I did! They came out warm, crisp and golden brown. The outsides were crispy, the inside was soft and light, and rolled in cinnamon powdered sugar… Heaven! These little bites of happiness are particularly good dipped into coffee. Only a few made it to this morning, and we’ll see if any make it to Wednesday.

cooked

Banana Golden Puffs
Adapted from 1969 Betty Crocker

As always, I am quite incapable of following a recipe. Since the banana’s needed to be used, they got mashed up and tossed into the batter. I just grated the nutmeg directly into the bowl and added some cinnamon for good measure. Since I added the banana, I cut the milk (I used rice milk) down to ½ a cup.

2 c. flour
¼ c. sugar
3 tsp. baking powder
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. nutmeg
1 tsp. cinnamon
2 ripe bananas, mashed
¼ c. salad oil
½ c. milk
1 egg

1 c. powdered sugar
3 tsp. cinnamon

Heat oil (3 to 4 in) to 375° in deep kettle.*
Measure flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, nutmeg and cinnamon into a bowl. Add bananas, oil, milk, and egg; mix until smooth.
Drop batter by spoonful into hot oil (warning: large puffs will not cook through). Fry 4 or 5 at a time for about 3 minutes, turning so they brown on both sides.
Drain and set on paper bag/paper towels to wick away excess oil.
Roll warm puffs in sugar mixture and enjoy!

* If you don’t have a kitchen thermometer, just heat the oil over medium heat for about 10 minutes before you begin frying. The oil should bubble when you drop in the raw dough.

