Tags

, , , ,

Soaked Beans

Today was… an experience to say the least. The kind of day that makes you want to curl up on the couch with a glass of wine and refuse to leave it ever again. Unfortunately I don’t have that option. So instead of spending the rest of eternity snuggled up with my cats… I made comfort food. Red beans and rice are one of my all time favorites. It is something my dad made for us throughout my childhood and continues to be a favorite food of mine to this day. It reminds me of childhood and it is wonderfully yummy, cheap and healthy.

Cooking

Now in defense of my favorite food, it is neither pretty nor particularly photogenic. So I apologize for the pictures, I promise it was gleefully consumed! And the kitties spent the entire time running around my feet looking at me as though they were sure this was for them. Don’t worry though; they both got a bit of sausage!

RedBeans and Rice

The comfort food did the trick though. I feel better with a full stomach and a glass of wine.

Red Beans

2 lbs dry red beans

1 large onion, chopped

2 celery stalks, chopped

½ green bell pepper, chopped

1 jalapeno

4-6 cloves garlic

Spicy sausage (recommend Andouille)

2 bay leaves

Salt

Dash cayenne, Thyme, and parsley

Sort and rinse the dry beans to remove any stones and dirt. Soak beans overnight in large soup pot.

Drain beans and set aside.

Sauté onion, celery, bell pepper, jalapeno, and garlic over medium heat for about 10 minutes. Slice sausage into chunks and add to pot, sauté until fully cooked.

Add beans, 6 c. water, and remaining seasonings and simmer for 2 – 4 hours; until beans are fully cooked and broth thickens.

Best served over rice.

