Tags

, , ,

I love French onion soup; could happily eat it every day, with or without the toast and cheese. This fact makes it rather strange that I’ve never tried to make it before. I don’t really know why I haven’t attempted it, guess it’s just not something I think to make for dinner (when I generally do my major cooking). I usually remember my love for it when it’s an option on the menu in front of me.

So the other day I was driving along and had a random “I really want French onion soup” moment. So… I decided to try top make it! Came out quite well if I do say so myself (and my roommate will back me up on that one). The recipe was really quite simple, if a bit time consuming. And it did smell strangely like bread, something I could not account for, but it tasted wonderful.

French Onion Soup (adapted from 1969 Betty Crocker)

I think next time I make this I’ll probably substitute a cup of red wine for some of the beef broth.

3 medium onions, thinly sliced

6 cloves garlic, minced

2 Tbs butter

6 c beef broth

Oregano

Parsley

Black pepper

In large covered pot, cook onions and garlic in butter over medium-low heat until onions caramelize, about 30 to 45 minutes.

Add broth and spices; bring to a boil. Reduce heat and simmer, covered, for at least 30 minutes.

To serve: Dish soup into oven safe bowls. Place a slice of toasted bread on top of each bowl, top with cheese (I would recommend a gruyere or parmesan) and place under a broiler for 3 to 5 minutes. Serve immediately.

