Tags

, , , ,

Because I’m terrible at making a reasonable amount of anything I’m cooking I way over did the pastry recipe the other day when making the tarts. So… I clearly had to think of some way to use it! And, due to recently seeing a chicken pot pie on one of my many and beloved cooking blogs (http://ayankeeinasouthernkitchen.com/2009/09/28/old-hen-chicken-pot-pie/,  if you want to see my inspiration!), it was the first thing that came to mind when trying to figure out what to do with the dough.

So I am presenting you with my very first attempt at making chicken pot pie… I enjoyed it but haven’t had much experience with the dish–roommate gave it a B. I think it needs cream in the sauce to make it thicker. Unfortunately that’s not an option for me but for those who can, I say add it!

Chicken Pot Pie

1 Tbs butter

½ lg onion

2 celery stalks

½ red bell pepper

½ green bell pepper

½ c carrots

1 c potatoes

1 hot pepper

½ c frozen peas

4 cloves garlic

1 ½ c chopped chicken breast

2 Bay leaves

1/2 tsb Thyme

1 tsb Parsley

2 c chicken broth

¾ c red wine

3 Tbs flour

2 Tbs sour cream

Splash balsamic vinegar

Standard Pastry (from 1969 Betty Crocker Cookbook):

1 c. all purpose flour

½ tsp salt

1/3 c. plus 1 Tbs shortening

2 – 3 Tbs cold water

Pre-heat oven to 400°.

In large sauce pan sauté all the vegetables.

While veggies cook, combine flour and salt in a large bowl. Cut the shortening into the flour thoroughly. Sprinkle in water, 1 Tbs at a time, until all flour is moistened and dough almost cleans the sides of the bowl. Gather the dough into a ball. Roll out the dough on a well-floured surface to the desired size and shape of your baking dish.

Whisk together the spices, wine, broth, flour, vinegar and sour cream in a bowl then add to the veggies. Bring mixture to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 3 to 5 minutes.

Pour mixture into baking dish and cover with pastry (I topped mine with parmesan and paprika). Bake for 20 to 30 minutes, until pastry browns.

