Tags

, , , ,

The busyness of the holiday caused me to neglect my blog! So sorry (that’s what I get for leaving my laptop at home I guess)! But I’m home now, laden with leftovers and good cheer! As well as the tasty results of a few Thanksgiving ventures! The first one I’m sharing is a new and slightly healthier twist on my families traditional holiday sweet potatoes. There was a unanimous inclination to discontinue the marshmallow topped version we have done for years. So I googled and came upon this lovely little gem!

Sweet Potato Soufflé (Adapted from TLC Cooking)

I think topping this with just a light sprinkle of brown sugar about 30 minutes into the baking would create a nicely caramelized crust, wish I had done it!

4 medium sweet potatoes

2 Tbs butter

1 tsp salt

¼ tsp white pepper

½ tsp ground nutmeg

½ tsp cinnamon

¼ tsp ground cloves

¾ cup Coconut milk

5 egg whites
Boiling water

1. Peel and chunk sweet potatoes, place in a medium saucepan, cover with water, and bring to a boil. Reduce heat and cover with lid. Boil 20 minutes or until fork-tender. Drain well and cool to room temperature before continuing.

2. Preheat oven to 375°F. Generously butter 2 quart soufflé dish casserole.

3. Mash cooled potatoes with salt, white pepper, nutmeg, cinnamon, cloves and coconut milk until smooth.

4. Beat egg whites with electric mixer until stiff peaks form. Gently but thoroughly fold egg whites into potato mixture until completely incorporated.

5. Pour into prepared soufflé dish. Place soufflé dish in 13X9-inch baking pan and place in oven. Pour enough boiling water into baking pan to come 1 inch up side of soufflé dish. Bake for 1 hour and 10 minutes or until knife inserted in center comes out clean.

