Tags

, , , ,

Ooo December… I’m not entirely sure I was ready for you yet. The last few weeks seem to have flown by and I’m still feeling pretty overwhelmed by life. But, overwhelmed or not, time is still passing and the New Year is creeping ever closer. So to maintain my equilibrium… cookies!

These came about because mom wanted oatmeal cookies, I wanted something with chocolate, and she had no Crisco in the house. So I checked my favorite blogs and discovered the perfect answer! They are some of the very best oatmeal cookies I’ve had, seriously loved them! As did everyone who got one, although my older sister wished they had raisins instead of chocolate.

Oatmeal, Chocolate Chip and Pecan Cookies (Smitten Kitchen)

I stayed pretty true to the original recipe, simply cutting down on the white sugar and chocolate chips a little, and switching the quaintest of the oats and pecans.

8 Tbl unsalted butter, at room temperature
1/2 c sugar
1 c brown sugar, packed
1 tsp salt
1 tsp vanilla extract
2 lg eggs
1 1/2 c flour
1 tsp baking soda
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/4 tsp ground nutmeg
1/8 tsp ground clove
2 c quick-cooking oats
1 c chopped pecans
2 tsp freshly grated orange zest

10 ozs semisweet chocolate chips

Pre-heat oven to 350° and line the baking sheet with parchment paper.

Beat butter, both sugars, salt, and vanilla until well mixed. Add eggs one at a time, mixing well in between.

Sift together the flour, baking soda, cinnamon, nutmeg, and clove into a separate bowl. Then slowly mix into the butter mixture, about one cup at a time.

Thoroughly fold in the remaining ingredients.

Drop the dough, by rounded teaspoonful on to the lined baking sheets. Bake for 10 – 12 minutes, until golden brown.

