Tags

, , , , ,

There has been a good bit of gross, rainy weather plaguing my lovely city recently. I’m not a fan… to say the least. The cold, damp air has been making me crave carbs like crazy. So I went to one of my very favorite (and super cheap!) pasta recipes: Pasta Puttanesca. Now, what I make doesn’t stay true to the inspiring recipe, at all really… but it dose stem from this wonderful version I discovered on Epicurious!

This is fast, easy, really cheap, and wonderfully tasty. I swear, once you’ve made this you will never go back to those jars of tomato sauce. Because, not only is this cheaper, but it’s better! As well as easy to manipulate into new versions (I often add mushrooms and spinach)!

Pasta Puttanesca (Kinda-sorta, my version at least)*

I generally serve this over angle hair pasta with a bit of parmesan on top.

1 can (15 oz) tomato sauce

1Tbs olive oil

4 cloves garlic, minced

½ tsp hot red-pepper flakes

½ medium onion, minced

½ green bell pepper, minced

1 tsp drained capers

¼ c dry red wine

2 tsp lemon juice

1 tsp sun dried tomatoes, minced

1 Tbs fresh basil, chopped (or 1 tsp dry)

Add olive oil, garlic and red-pepper to a medium sauce pan over medium heat, allowing them to heat and become fragrant, about 2-3 min. Add onion and bell pepper and sauté for 5 to 6 minutes. Add sauce, capers, wine, lemon juice, sun-dried tomatoes and basil and bring to a low boil. Allow to simmer, stirring often, for about 10 minutes.

*Ok, so as I was writing this and looking at the original recipe I realized just how different mine has become… so I don’t know if it really can still be considered a Puttanesca. But that’s still what I call it!

