Tags

, ,

I want to start this by saying I LOVE fried rice. I realize it’s not the healthiest thing on the planet, generally speaking… but it is one of my favorite parts of going to hibachi grills (well that and the shrimp sauce, with is a whole other post entirely). So I had an excessive amount of leftover rice sitting in my fridge one day, and thought “I wonder if I can do fried rice, a little healthier?” So I tried, and low and behold, new apartment favorite!

So the other day we once again had some left over rice, pork loin, and asparagus sitting in the fridge begging to be eaten. So I tossed them all together and it made really good fried rice! This is an easy weeknight dinner (so long as you already have cooked rice) and is wonderfully filling on  a cold night!

Pork and Asparagus Fried Rice
1 small onion, chunked

3 stalks celery, chunked

1/2 medium bell pepper

2 carrot, chunked

1/2 bunch asparagus

4 oz. cooked pork

1 can water chestnuts, drained

1 egg

4 c. cooked rice

sesame seeds

soy sauce

teriyaki sauce

(The rice will come out fluffier if it is cooked at least 2 hours before and allowed to sit. Best from the night before.)
Heat wok on medium-high heat with veggie oil

Add veggies and sauté for about 5 min, or until the onion starts to become translucent, set aside. Allow wok to heat back up and then add the egg and scramble, set aside with veggies once fully cooked. Add pork and chestnuts to wok and cook about 5 minutes, tossing periodically, set aside with everything else.

Return wok to heat, add oil and sesame seed and allow to heat until seeds begin to brown, add rice. Let cook for 5 to 6 minutes turning once. Add healthy dash soy sauce and teriyaki sauce and let cook another 2 to 3 minutes. Return all other ingredients to the wok and toss until completely mixed.

(I usually serve this with shrimp sauce)

