Tags

, , ,

Hash browns… The reason I go to waffle house. There is just something about a big pile of grated potato, onions and peppers, smothered in cheese that makes everything better (and yes, I do realize it may well be the grease involved… or the cheese). Now that I have confessed my love of greasy hash browns, I can also tell you I have discovered something wonderful. You can make killer hash browns… AT HOME! Seriously!

These are really easy, have very little grease, and can be loaded up with whatever additions make you happy. I have included everything from bacon to spinach. Simply depends on how healthy you’re feeling.

Now, here is the disclaimer: if I didn’t have a food processor to grate my potatoes with, I would probably never make these. Attempting to grate potato by hand… just not something I’m willing to risk my fingers to do.

Homemade Hash Browns

2 medium potatoes, washed and grated

½ medium onion, chopped

1 tomato, chopped

2 c baby spinach

2 cloves garlic, minced

Cheese of choice

In large sauté pan cook the onion, tomato, spinach, and garlic over medium-high heat until onion becomes translucent, about 6-8 minutes. Remove veggies from the pan and set aside.

Add 2 Tbs of olive oil top pan and place back on heat. Add shredded potato to pan, and allow to cook for 2 minutes, scrape bottom of pan with spatula, tossing the potato in the process. Allow to cook another 2 minutes, toss again. Continue process until potato is cooked through.

Return the veggies to the pan and incorporate into the potato. Lower heat, layer cheese over hash browns and cover until cheese is melted. Enjoy!

