Tags

, , , ,

I decided to do baked goods baskets for some of the people on my Christmas list this season. The picture above is the result of such baking. My kitchen was a mess, with cookies, cakes and other baked goods covering just about every available surface for the better part of two days. It was chaotic to say the least! That said, everything turned out nicely and was very well received.

You can expect quite a few posts about cookies, breads and cake balls! So get ready to indulge your sweet tooth (as mine has been over indulged for the last few days… don’t think I’m going to need sugar for a while).

So, I’m starting with one of my all time favorite cookies that I’ve been making for years. They look festive, taste wonderful, and are really quite easy to make.

Russian Teacakes (1969 Betty Crocker Cookbook)

1 c. Butter, softened

1/2 c. powdered sugar

1 tsp vanilla

2  1/4 c. all-purpose flour

1/4 tsp salt

3/4 c. finely chopped nuts

Pre-heat oven to 375°.

Thoroughly mix butter, sugar and vanilla.  Slowly mix in flour, salt and nuts until dough holds together.

Roll dough into one inch balls and place on a un-greased baking sheet. Bake 10-12 minutes, or until set but not brown. While warm, roll in powdered sugar. Allow to cool completely then roll in powdered sugar again.

