Tags

, , , ,

These are the sugar cookies I grew up on. We made these at Christmas for as long as I can remember (along with gingerbread men)! It’s an oldie, but a goody. Plus they’re super fun to decorate (and yes, my ocd kicked in a bit with the piping and filling of these babies)! I remember baking and decorating these cookies with my mom and sisters.

Just as a side note, I omitted the cream of tartar (didn’t have any in the apartment). Not a good choice, made the dough do weird things when refrigerated. So, that said, I strongly advise adding the tarter!

Deluxe Sugar Cookies (1969 Betty Crocker)

1 c. butter, softened

1 1/2 c. powdered sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla

1/2 tsp almond extract

2 1/2 c. flour

1 tsp soda

1 tsp cream of tartar

Mix butter, sugar, egg, vanilla and almond extract thoroughly. Gradually blend in flour, soda and cream of tartar. Cover and chill for 2 to 3 hrs.

Heat oven to 375°. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.

Divide dough in half, roll out half to 3/16th of an inch thick on a well floured surface. Cut into desired shapes and transfer to a baking sheet. Bake 7 to 8 minutes.

For decorators icing simply combine powdered sugar and water to desired consistency.

