Tags

, , , ,

So I’m finally posting the banana bread I told you about like 2 months ago (when I meant to make it and ended up making banana golden puffs)! This is one of my favorite breakfast foods, and freezes beautifully. I usually will make a big loaf, slice it and freeze it and just toast a piece at a time for breakfast during the week. And since it has at least 2 bananas baked in there it’s basically a serving of fruit (obviously this isn’t true… but I totally tell myself that to make me feel healthier)!

Obviously the recipe is from Betty Crocker (aka the cooking bible as Roomie and I refer to it) and of course I fail to adhere to the recipe exactly. So feel free not to add all the spices I do. It’s really good either way!

Banana Nut Bread (adapted from 1969 Betty Crocker)

2 ½ cups All-purpose flour

1 cup sugar

3 ½ tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

3 Tbs oil

¾ cup milk

1 egg

1 cup chopped nuts

1 cup mashed ripe banana (2 to 3)

2 tsp cinnamon

1tsp nutmeg

Heat oven to 350°. Grease and flour a 9×5-inch loaf pan or 2 8 ½ x 4 ½ -inch loaf pans.

Measure all ingredients into a large mixer bowl; beat on medium speed ½ minute, scraping side and bottom of the bowl consistently.

Pour into pan(s). Bake 55 to 65 minutes or until wooden pick inserted into center comes out clean. Remove from pan and allow to cool at least 5 minutes before slicing.

