Tags

, , , , ,

Part of my new year’s resolution is to vary my cooking and experiment with new recipes. Well… last tonight was just not on of those night. It was more of an easy-recipe-that-I’ve-made-a-million-times kind of night. I tend to stick to my old-faithful recipes when I’m cooking for myself. It’s just not as fun to make elaborate recipes without someone to share it with. As the roomie is out of town for a few days and my sweetie generally feeds himself during the week, I’ve been left to cook just for myself. Now if I really want to share my dinner my darling little kitten would have happily shared my dinner. She was ever so helpful while I was cooking, trying to climb my leg and crying at me the entire time.

Anyhow, enough rambling, point is this is a quick, easy and very tasty dinner. A recipe I find my self going back to time and time again. If you’re not really a spicy food person than I would suggest toning down the pepper a little. This generally comes out a bit spicy.

Sour Cream Enchiladas

1 lg chicken breast, skinless and boneless

½ lg onion, thinly sliced

1 bell pepper, thinly sliced

1 jalapeno, minced

2 cloves garlic, minced

1 cup sour cream

2/3 cup cheddar cheese, shredded

Flour tortillas

Enchilada sauce

1/8 large onion, minced

3 cloves garlic

1 can diced tomatoes with fluid

½ bunch cilantro

2 tsp chili powder

½ tsp paprika

½ tsp cumin

¼ tsp cayenne

Dash back pepper and salt

Heat oven to 400°.

Boil chicken breast until completely cooked. Remove from water and let cool.

While chicken cooks sauté onion, peppers and garlic over medium heat until tender.

While veggies sauté, start the sauce. Sauté the minced onion in a medium sauce pan, puree all other ingredients in a food processor and add to the sauté pan. Let cook until enchiladas are assembled.

Shred cooked chicken with fork and place in large bowl. Add veggies, sour cream and cheese and combine completely. Spoon mixture into center of tortillas and roll. Place seam down in a lightly greased 13×9-inch baking pan. Cover with enchilada sauce, sprinkle with extra cheese and bake 20 to 25 minutes.

