Tags

, , , , ,

I’ve neglected you blogosphere… I’m sorry! Things have been a little crazy this week and I just haven’t had the chance to sit down and write. Now, I will say, in spite of the craziness I did manage to fulfill my weekly resolutions. I cooked a completely new recipe, fish and a vegetarian meal. Although the vegetarian meal hardly counted as it was just a burrito and the closets I got to cooking it was tossing it in the microwave for a minute. But for this week at least it will have to do.

As for my new recipe and my fish, I combine that into one meal. My sweetie brought over some Mahi Mahi and I found this amazing recipe through the Steamy Kitchen blog. It sounded good, and although we know I never manage to actually follow a recipe, it came out very well. In fact I asked roomie and my sweetie for a rating of the recipe after we finished dinner and they gave it a 3.5 and a 4.5 out of 5. So all it all it got a pretty good review.

Mahi Mahi with Brown Sugar Pineapple Glaze (Recipe from ClubMed Insider site)

I didn’t stick to the recipe, but I also couldn’t tell you exactly what I did when I made it. I know I doubled the butter, left out the cilantro, used more garlic, onion, ginger and pepper then they called for, and I also used canned pineapple and added some of the juice to the sauce. Also I completely omitted the salt and didn’t miss it at all (but then again I don’t really eat much salt…). So have fun with it, it is a great sauce!

1 tbs butter
1/2 c onion, minced
2 tsp garlic, finely minced
1/2 to 1 tsp fresh chili, finely minced (scotch bonnet, habanero or jalepeno)
1/2 tsp ginger root, finely minced or grated
1/4 cup brown sugar, divided
2 c pineapple, diced
1/4 c cider vinegar
1/2 tsp cinnamon
1/3 c cilantro, chopped
salt and pepper to taste
four 6-oz mahi mahi (or any other local fish, about 1 in thick)
1 Tbs olive oil

Heat medium sauce pan and butter over medium heat. When the butter is bubbling, add the onion, garlic, chili, ginger and just half of the brown sugar. Cook for 1-2 minutes, stirring constantly until the sugar has caramelized. Add the remaining brown sugar, pineapple, cider vinegar and cinnamon. Continue to cook until the pineapple has softened and the mixture is bubbling. Turn heat to low, let cook for another minute and then turn heat off. Stir in the cilantro, salt and pepper to taste.

Season the mahi mahi fillets with salt and pepper. Heat a cast iron skillet over high heat, add the olive oil and swirl to coat. Once pan is hot, add the fillets and cook the fish for about 4 minutes on each side or until they are cooked through.

Top fillets with the pineapple brown sugar glaze and serve.

