Tags

, , , , ,

I can’t order creamy pasta dishes when I go out to eat now (which probably saves me tons of calories, but is still a little sad) so I make them at home occasionally. I was in the mood for some kind of baked pasta dish and had the end of a block of gruyere, some parmesan and some random veggies. So I went on a scavenger hunt in my fridge and freezer and came up with this combination.

As always, the roomie and I discussed what we would add to the dish next time we made it. My sweetie on the other hand was scarffing down his serving and occasionally voicing his complete satisfaction with what he was eating. we all thoroughly enjoyed that dish, he just wouldn’t have changed a thing!

Creamy Pasta Bake

2 links Italian sausage

½ green Bell pepper, chunked

½ crown Broccoli, sliced and chunked

½ lg Onion, chunked

1 box small shells

Sauce

3 Tbs butter

4-6 cloves Garlic, minced

Healthy dash Black pepper, Red pepper flakes and Rosemary

¾ c. Rice milk

¼ c. Cream cheese

½ c. Gruyere

½ c. Parmesan

1 can tomatoes with juice

Heat oven to 400°.

Cook pasta shells to al dente, strain and set aside.

In medium sauté pan cook sausage over medium heat until completely cooked. Add pepper, broccoli and onion and cook for another 5 to 8 minutes.

In small sauce pan melt butter over medium-low heat. Add garlic and spices and let cook until fragrant. Add milk, raise heat to medium and cook until it starts to bubble. Wisk in cream cheese, gruyere, and ½ of the parmesan, let cook for 2 to 3 minutes. Add tomatoes and allow to cook for another 2 to 4 minutes.

Combine shells, veggies and sauce in a large bowl and mix thoroughly. Pour into a large baking dish and top with the remaining parmesan cheese. Bake for about 25 minutes.

