Tags

, , , ,

I have a confession to make… I have already broken my new years resolutions. The stress of a new job means I haven’t had the energy to find and experiment with new recipes in the last 2 weeks, and I also haven’t been cooking with fish. So I’m not giving up on the goals, I’m just going to try and be better!

Now that I have confessed, I also have a great recipe for you! This started from a Rachel Ray cookbook and is a long standing favorite. I really love the flavor of white chili and this is not only good, but quick to make as well. I actually made it with black beans and ground turkey this time, but I’m giving you the original recipe, but cause it’s just so darn good! It is a wonderful cold weather recipe and great with corn bread (but that is a post for another day). And here is a little kitten cuteness to brighten your day!

White Chicken Chili (Rachael Ray’s 30-Minute Get Real Meals by Rachael Ray)

I usually add ½ the cilantro and all of the lime juice as it simmers.

6 6oz boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-size pieces
Salt and black pepper
1 medium yellow onion, thinly sliced

1/2 medium bell pepper, chopped
5 garlic cloves, finely chopped
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and finely chopped

2 Tbs ground cumin
1 Tbs ground coriander
1 cup mild or hot tomatillo salsa (green salsa)
4 cups chicken stock or broth
15 oz cannellini or Great Northern beans

1 cup corn
1 handful fresh cilantro, roughly chopped
Juice of 1 lime
Shredded Monterey Jack or Pepper Jack cheese, for garnish

Heat a medium soup pot over medium-high heat with the vegetable oil. Add the chicken to the hot oil and season liberally with salt and pepper. Cook for 2 to 3 minutes, stirring frequently. Add the onion, bell pepper garlic, jalapeno, cumin, and coriander and cook for 3 to 4 minutes, continuing to stir.

Add the tomatillo salsa and the chicken stock. Bring the chili up to a simmer. Add half of the beans and the corn. With a fork thoroughly mash the other half of the beans, then add to the chili. This method will help to thicken the chili. Simmer the chili for 10 – 20 minutes.

Remove the chili from the heat and add the cilantro, parsley, and lime juice.
Serve each bowl of chili with a little shredded Monterey Jack cheese on top.

