Tags

, , , , , ,

So… I’m not actually much of a football girl. Heck, I’m not really much of a sports girl period, unless it’s Georgia Tech that is! So when the super bowl rolls around I’m really way more excited about the party and the food than the game. But sadly, since I’ve realized my lactose intolerance my choices at most parties are limited. All the creamy dips and cheesy finger foods are off limits.

Now here is a healthier and non-dairy option that is still entirely tasty and very worthy of any party spread. This is a great base recipe for hummus, and is easy to add to for a variety of flavors. I’ve done everything from roasted red pepper, roasted garlic, and most recently a combination of roasted garlic and fresh parsley.

Hummus

1 (15 oz) can garbanzo beans, drained and rinsed

½ c tahaini

¼ c olive oil

3 tbs lemon juice

1 tbs vinegar

2 tbs water

3 – 4 cloves garlic

Dash oregano, cumin, and black pepper

*This time I added 1 head of roasted garlic, ½ bunch fresh parsley, and healthy dash crushed red pepper flakes

Puree all ingredients in a food processor, pulsing intermittently, until everything is entirely combine and smooth. Adjust the liquid to get the consistency you prefer. The hummus is best served with pita chips and veggies!

