Tags

, , , , , , ,

So this post it a bit late… Sorry! This was my fat Tuesday dinner celebration! And it was definitely a bit on the indulgent side. I was originally intending to make crawfish etouffee. But, when there were no crawfish to be found at 3 different grocery stores (I guess you shouldn’t try to buy crawfish on fat Tuesday…) I changed my plans a bit.

I’m going to confess something to you: I don’t like shrimp all that much. I know, who doesn’t like shrimp!?! Well, it’s not that I dislike them; they just aren’t my first choice in sea food. Since they were my only choice, I regrouped and decided to do shrimp and grits. Is there really anything much better then a big bowl of cheesy, garlicky grits? I didn’t think so! The shrimp topping was very similar to an etouffee, but with andouille sausage. Came out pretty darn well if I do say so myself. Well, the roomie and my sweetie also said that, he went back for seconds, and he doesn’t even like grits!!

Shrimp and Grits

¼ to ½ lb andouille sausage

½ medium onion, chopped

½ green bell pepper, chopped

1 jalapeno, minced

2 stalks celery, chopped

4 cloves garlic, minced

Dash cayenne, parsley, bay leaves

1 c white wine

1 Tbs flour

1 Tbs lemon juice

1 lb peeled shrimp

Heat a large sauce pan with 2 tablespoons over medium high heat and cook the andouille sausage for about 6 minutes. Add the onion, peppers, celery, and garlic and sauté another 6 to 10 minutes. Wisk together the liquids, spices and flour and add to the pan. Add shrimp to the pan and cook for another 10 to 12 minutes, until shrimp are cooked through.

Serve over a bed of cheese grits.

Cheese Grits

4 c water

1 c grits

2 cloves garlic

2 cups shredded cheese

Bring water to a boil; add grits and cook, stirring regularly, until grits thicken. Remove from heat and stir in cheese. Mix until cheese is completely melted.

