Tags

, , , ,

Winter is finally starting to give way to spring and we have seen some decent weather! I couldn’t be more ready to spring to really get here! That said I am still in winter mode in terms of cooking and have been eating more carbs than is entirely necessary. Dinner Sunday was a wonderful casserole version of twice baked potatoes! Plus, a few tasty and healthy additions. I have found it is super easy to sneak some roasted eggplant into your twice baked potato casserole without it changing the flavor. Just a side note, I always microwave my potatoes; it’s much faster and still tastes good to me! I also roast the egg plant for about 25 minutes at 450°.

Twice Baked Potato Casserole

5 small russet potatoes, cooked and peeled

½ medium egg plant, roasted

½ medium onion, minced

3 cloves garlic, minced

½ c frozen chopped spinach

4 pieces of bacon, cooked and chopped

2/3 c shredded cheese

¼ c cream cheese

Parmesan and paprika to top

Pre-heat oven to 425°.

Mash together potatoes, egg plant, and cream cheese. Thoroughly mix in all remaining ingredients and put into oven proof dish. Top with parmesan and paprika and bake for about 20 minutes or until top gets brown.

