Tags

, , , , ,

I honestly don’t know what it is that posses me to make things sometime. There is rarely rhyme or reason to my cooking ventures. It is whatever strikes my fancy as I start to get hungry in the late afternoon. I have been leaning towards carby things as of late. Not sure why, but it just seems to be the truth.

This is a dairy-free (well… made with fake dairy products at least) take on the egg plant parmesan I grew up on. I haven’t had it in years and had half an eggplant sitting in my fridge just dying to get used. I really must be on some kind of unhealthy food kick making this fried, cheesy pot of goodness. This isn’t really a quick dinner. It involves a number of steps, and layering and baking. But it is one worthy final product!

Eggplant Parmesan

½ eggplant

1 egg

2 tsp lemon juice

1 c bread crumbs

Tomato sauce

Soy cream cheese

½ c. shredded mozzarella*

1 c. parmesan

Garlic powder, onion powder, parsley, basil, rosemary

Heat a large cast iron skillet with about 1/3 a cup of vegetable oil over medium-high heat. Wisk together the egg and lemon juice in a shallow bowl. Slice the eggplant into about 1/3 in wide rounds, dip into egg and then bread crumbs and place in hot skillet. Brown thoroughly on each side and then remove from pan. Set aside on a paper towel.

Mix the cream cheese, mozzarella, garlic powder, onion powder, parsley, basil and rosemary.

Heat oven to 400°.

Pour a little tomato sauce into the bottom of a medium casserole pan, lay a single layer of the fried eggplant, and put a dollop of the cheese mixture on the top of each round of egg plant, and top with some parmesan. Top this with tomato sauce and continue layering in this fashion until you have used all the eggplant. Top with any remaining sauce and parmesan.

Bake for 25 minutes. Server over pasta.

*I used Trader Joe’s lactose free yogurt cheese.

