Tags

, , , , , ,

I was in the mood for something a little different last night and pulled these out of my recipe archive. I had to dust it off a bit since I haven’t really made these since I gave up dairy.  Boy did I remember why I like these so much! Tasty, melty and easy to make and even easier to eat! Even better, the taco baskets can easily be translated into a mini version for parties (which is actually how I came upon this idea in the first place).

Just wanted to throw in some spring pictures from my Easter weekend (I got a little camera happy)!

Taco Baskets

3 large flour tortillas

1 c black beans, rinsed and drained

½ lb chicken, chopped

1 small red bell pepper, chopped

1 small onion, chopped

1 jalapeno, minced

½ bunch cilantro, chopped

Sour cream

Cheese (I used 4 slices of Trader Joes Lactose-free yogurt cheese)

Pre-heat oven to 400°.

Sauté chicken in medium sauté pan over medium high heat, about 8 minutes. Add the peppers, and onion and cook for another 8 to 10 minutes.

While the chicken and veggies cook, cut the tortillas into quarters. Carefully press the tortilla quarters into the muffin tin. Put a dollop of sour cream into the bottom of each, add black beans and chicken-veggie mixture. Top each taco basket with some cilantro and cheese.

Bake for 10 to 15 minutes or until the cheese is completely melted.

Serve with guacamole.

