Tags

, , , ,

So… I am apparently only posting once a week now days. But I’m working on it, I promise! I am seriously intending to post again this week! That said, on to the food! It was an overcast and cool day today and I was entirely in the mood for soup. Thus I came upon a recipe for jalapeno corn chowder!  I couldn’t resist it.

I was trying for another Meatless Monday, but didn’t quite manage it as I definitely added bacon! I’m sure it would be better with fresh sweet corn, but it’s just not available yet. I think I might add crawfish next time I make it. Topped with a little bacon and cheese and you have one tasty dinner.

Jalapeno Corn Chowder (Adapted from Country Home)

3 c. frozen corn

½ onion, chopped

1 jalapeno, minced

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 ½ c. chicken stock

2 c. rice milk

1 Tbs. flour

1 Tbs soy cream cheese

Big dash Cumin

Light dash cayenne

½ red bell pepper, chopped

Purée 2 c corn, ¼ the onion, ½ the jalapeno, garlic, and 2 c rice milk in a food processor. Add to a soup pot with the chicken stock, flour, cream cheese, cumin and cayenne. Wisk everything together until fully incorporated. Bring to a boil, reduce the heat and simmer for 10 to 15 minutes.

While the base simmers, sauté the remaining onion, jalapeno, corn, and the red bell pepper over medium-high heat for about 6 minutes.

Add the sautéed veggies to the base and simmer for a few more minutes.

Serve with shredded cheddar cheese and crumbled bacon.

