Tags

, , , ,

Life has been crazy busy! I celebrated a birthday, found a new place to live, and now am knee deep in boxes trying to get ready to move into a new place THIS WEEKEND! Needless to say I’ve not been doing much in the way of exciting cooking. However I received a few great kitchen gifts from some of the wonderful people in my life (check it out that cook book stand and cook book)!

I’ll also ply you with a few of the pictures I took at the botanical gardens on Sunday.

And finally, in honor of my birthday I give you my very favorite frosting! Sorry there are no pictures of it!

French Silk Frosting (from the Betty Crocker Cookbook)

2 2/3 c confectioners’ sugar

2/3 c soft butter

2 oz. melted unsweetened chocolate (cool)

¾ tsp vanilla

2 Tbs milk

In small mixer bowl, blend sugar, butter, chocolate and vanilla on low speed. Gradually add milk, and beat until smooth and fluffy.

Fills and frosts two 8 or 9-inch layers or frosts a 13×9-inch cake.

