Tags

, , , , , , ,

I’ve been reading Julie & Julia. My older sister got it for me for Christmas and I am only now getting around to reading it. Terrible, I know. But anyways, reading her cooking adventures and crazy goal has inspired me to re-visit mine. I started out this year with lofty goals and good intentions. Well here we are almost half way through 2010 and I’ve not managed to stick with most of them. So let’s revisit and see how I’m doing so far:

  • Cook at least 5 recipes from each of my cookbook – haven’t even cooked 1 recipe from each cookbook yet!
  • Take a cooking class – Nope…
  • Try a new and unfamiliar recipe every week – Hum… maybe once every 2 weeks.
  • Bake yeast bread – I have actually completed this one (King Cake)!
  • Eat more salad – not hardly.
  • Try making sushi – Had a blast with this one on Valentines day.
  • Cook fish at least once a week – more like once a month.
  • Cook a vegetarian meal at least once a week – I manage this about 3 out of the month, so not too bad.
  • Eat a new cuisine – I haven’t managed this yet, but I’m working on it!

So now that I reviewed my list and that fact that I’m not doing so hot with it as of yet… I can work on actually crossing off a few more items. I really need to bookmark 5 recipes in each cookbook so I can get started on that one properly! I have some amazing cookbook’s I don’t utilize properly.

But enough about my culinary shortcomings and on to the bacon! Because bacon makes everything better! No seriously, I fully believe bacon can fix just about every problem, except maybe fat days… but even then it’s much more comforting then lettuce (although lettuce dipped in a dressing/Sriracha mixture is pretty great). So, because I love bacon, and all things spicy, and I miss jalapeno poppers from my cheese eating days, I created these.

They started from a picture I saw of bacon wrapped jalapenos, only that was all the picture told me. So of course I had to try something along those lines, only with cheese! This was the result:

Bacon Wrapped Jalapenos with Pineapple-salsa Cream Cheese

6 – 8 large jalapenos

8 oz tofutti cream cheese, room temperature

1/3 c pineapple salsa

3 Tbs corn starch

12 – 14 strips of bacon

Pre heat the oven to 450° and line a baking sheet with foil (easier clean up).

Wash the jalapenos, remove the stem, cutting off as little of the top of the pepper as possible. Slice the jalapenos in half and remove the seeds, leaving a layer of flesh at the top of the pepper to hold in the cheese.

In a small bowl whisk together the cream cheese and salsa. Now, if you use real cream cheese you may have a good spreading consistency at this point. If not, add the corn starch, one tablespoon at a time until you reach a thick, but spreadable consistency. We don’t want the cheese mixture to escape!

Generously fill the pepper halves.

Wrap each stuffed pepper with a strip of bacon. I would suggest warping from the larger end to the smaller and securing the end of the bacon under the pepper.

Set the finished pepper on the baking sheet. Give them space, at least a inch apart to let the bacon get crisp.

Bake about 20 to 25 minutes, or until your bacon looks crispy.

Let cool for at least 10 minutes, or you’ll burn your mouth (I speak from experience).

