Tags

, , , , , , ,

A tropical dessert seemed like a fitting thing to share today as I am currently sitting on the beach somewhere lovely with my sweetie enjoying the sun! I know you should be jealous. Worry not though; I’m sure I’ll have some pictures to share when we return. But if you want to channel some of that tropical bliss right now then this cake is a good place to start.

Now I also must admit something to you before I give you the recipe… I use cake mix. I know I know, if you like to bake you should do it properly. But cake mixes are just so simple and they make throwing together a cake so easy! And throw together a cake I did!

Pineapple-Rum Upside-down Cake

1 box yellow cake mix

¾ c pineapple juice (from the can of pineapple chunks)

¼ c dark rum

¼ c vanilla soy milk

1/3 c butter

3 eggs (well… I only used 2, but that’s just because I only had 2!)

1 can of pineapple chunks

¼ c brown sugar

Crisco for greasing the pan

Pre-heat the oven to 350°. Lightly grease a 13x9x2 cake pan with the Crisco.

Drain the can of pineapple chunks, reserve the liquid. Spread the pineapple evenly across the bottom of the pan. Sprinkle with brown sugar and set aside.

In a large bowl combine the cake mix, pineapple juice (from the can of pineapple), rum, soy milk, butter and eggs. Mix thoroughly, until the batter is smooth. Pour batter over the pineapple chunks and brown sugar.

Bake for about 30 minutes or until a tooth pick comes out clean when inserted into the middle of the cake.

Let cool for about 10 minutes. Flip cake out onto a cutting board or serving platter.

