Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I don’t know if you realized it, but there are only 194 day’s left in 2010 (seriously!). Why is this relevant? Well if you remember, I had set a goal of cooking 5 recipes out of each of my cookbooks back in January. Only I haven’t even started! So yesterday the rooms, my sweetie and I sat down with all of my cookbooks and flagged 5 recipes in each book. So now I have 105 recipes to cook in the next 194 days…

Don’t get me wrong, it’s not too daunting a task. But it’s definitely going to be a bit of a stretch. Considering I usually use a recipe about once every 2 weeks and I rarely plan my meals more then 2 or 3 hours in advance! I already have 4 recipes picked out for this week, so I’m off to a good start. Plus my sweetie created this great spreadsheet that has all the recipes organized and easy to see. Seriously, it’s awesome!

Actually, I’ve actually cooked one of the recipes on my list, so I’m down to 104! The coconut cream pie came out beautifully. Even without the cream it was delicious, just not quite as pretty.

Coconut Cream Pie with Pineapple (adapted from Cooking Light)

*If you’re not lactose intolerant then I would suggest topping this with chocolate cream. Banana would also would be great in this, sliced and layered between the cream and custard.

I used this pie dough recipe from Smitten Kitchen. The crust needs to be baked and cooled prior to adding the filling.

1 8 ½ oz can crushed pineapple

¾ c sugar

¼ c cornstarch

¼ tsp salt

1 ½ c coconut milk

2 large eggs, lightly beaten

Drain the pineapple and spread on the bottom of the crust.

In a medium sauce pan combine sugar, cornstarch, salt and coconut milk over medium heat. Bring to a boil and cook for a minute, whisking continuously. Remove from the heat.

Gradually whisk in some of the hot custard into the eggs to temper them. Add egg and custard mixture to the sauce pan and cook over medium heat for 2 minutes, or until thick, whisking continuously.

Pour the custard into the prepared crust and cool for at least 2 hours.

*If you’re adding a cream layer this is the time to do it!

