Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

So begins the reality of my cooking challenge. Tonight I made stuffed bell peppers from a great little Cajun cookbook I stole from my mom (Thanks mom!). I actually stayed pretty true to the recipe, simply reducing the amount and did my normal trick of not really measuring anything. I also left out the butter and subbed in a little olive oil. I went heavy on the Tabasco, cheese, and parmesan. I also subbed fresh garlic for the garlic salt.

The recipe was super easy, just took a little while to bake. Turned out quite tasty!

Stuffed Peppers (1981 La Bouche Creole Cookbook)

½ cup rice (I think they mean uncooked rice, so this would be about 1 ½ c cooked rice)

6 Bell Peppers

1 lb ground meat (I used ground turkey)

½ stick of butter

2 onions, chopped

2 green onions, chopped

½ tsp beef bouillon granules

2 pinches basil

2 shakes Tabasco

½ tsp garlic salt

1 16 oz can tomatoes

½ tsp chili powder

½ c grated cheddar cheese

1/3 c grated parmesan

1/8 tsp cayenne pepper

In a large sauce pan, over medium heat brown the ground meat in butter. Drain all but about 2 tbs of liquid from the pan. Add onions and green onions and sauté for about 6 minutes.

Remove from heat and add all remaining ingredients. Mix thoroughly.

Stuff the peppers with the rice and meat mixture. Place in a baking pan, leaving space between the peppers. Add enough water to cover the bottom of the pan. Bake for 35 – 45 minutes at 375.

