Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

Pork Chops Hawaiian & Jalapeno Corn Bread

I had a very long day… Today was stressful and I came home exhausted and grumpy and hungry. I can promise you I was no pleasure to be in the kitchen with. I would offer to let my sweet vouch for that one, but I probably don’t want to hear his version! But with a little gnashing of teeth, some grumpiness on my part, and a glass of wine, dinner finally came together.

Sweet Kitties help too!

I did two of my challenge recipes, both of them came together quickly and easily. They are both inexpensive recipes as well. These are both dishes worth making! Definitely! In fact, my sweetie was raving about it the entire time.

The cornbread is pretty similar to another recipe I have. I’ll have to make it again, only with bacon (my sweetie convinced me to leave it out as we were already heavy on the pork). The pork was all new, although it was actually suppose to be made with lamb, and I miss read the recipe! Woops!

Jalapeno Corn Bread (adapted from the1997 Easy Gourmet Cookbook)

*I left out the bacon and the bell pepper, and added chopped onion, and traded out the canned jalapenos for 1 ½ fresh minced jalapeno.

2 boxes jiffy corn muffin mix

2/3 c unsweetened soy milk

1 8ox can cream-style corn

2 eggs

Garlic powder to taste

½ c chopped bell pepper

8 sliced bacon, cooked and crumbled

½ c canned chopped jalapeno

1 c shredded sharp  cheddar cheese

Pre-heat oven to 350° and grease 13×9 pan.

Mix all ingredients thoroughly and pour batter into the prepared pan.

Bake for 20 to 25 minutes, or until golden brown.

Pork Chops Hawaiian (adapted from 1969 Betty Crocker Cookbook)

4 pork chops

1 can pineapple chunks in juice

¼ c soy sauce

¼ c vinegar

½ tsp dry mustard

1 tsp Sriracha

2 tbs butter

¼ medium onion, minced

½ fresh jalapeno, minced

¼ c brown sugar, packed

1 tsp cornstarch

Drain pineapple chunks and set aside juice. Add soy, vinegar, mustard and Sriracha to the reserved pineapple juice. Marinate pork chops in this mixture for at least 4 hours in the fridge (or if your anything like me 10 minutes). Drain chops, reserving marinade.

In medium cast-iron skillet over medium-high heat, add 1 Tbs butter and allow pan to get hot. Brown the pork chops and reduce heat to medium-low. Add ¼ c of the reserve marinade and cook for another 20 to 30 minutes, depending on the thickness of the chops.

While the chops cook, sauté minced onion and jalapeno with 1 Tbs butter in a small sauce pan.

Combine brown sugar and corn starch in a small bowl and mix thoroughly.

Add the pineapple chunks, remaining marinade and brown sugar mixture to the sauce pan and bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Reduce heat slightly and simmer for 10 to 15 minutes.

Serve chops with pineapple sauce.