Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I maced my apartment… or may as well have! This is actually the second time I’ve managed to do this. Something about the combination of the spice rub and the heat of the pan kicks up a very spicy smoke. The vent on my stove my as well not have worked for the amount of smoke in the kitchen! Rooms, my sweetie and myself were all coughing like crazy. We opened the windows and let the steamy summer air in… but at least it helped get the smoke out of the apartment.

Other then the cooking process almost killing us, these were really quite a tasty dinner. Simple to make as well. I actually stayed pretty true to the recipe for once, only adding lettuce and onions, and not measuring, which I rarely do.

Mini Flank Steak Tortillas with Chipotle-Lime Sour Cream ( Dave’s Dinners Cookbook)

2 Tbs olive oil

3 cloves garlic, minced

Juice of ½ lime

1 Tbs Worcestershire sauce

1 Tbs chili powder

1 Tbs adobo sauce (from canned chipotles)

½ tsp salt

15 grinds fresh black pepper

1 ½ lbs flank steak

1 large red bell pepper, sliced

½ bunch cilantro

For Chipotle-Lime Sour Cream:

1 c sour cream

1 canned chipotle, minced

Zest of ½ lime (I just used lime juice)

Combine the oil, garlic, lime juice, Worcestershire, chili powder, adobo, and pepper in a shallow baking dish, large enough for the steak to lay flat in. add the steak, coating both side thoroughly with the marinade. Cover and marinate at room temperature for 30 minutes, or in the fridge for up to 8 hours.

While the steak marinates, combine the ingredients for the sour cream and mix thoroughly.

Heat a large skillet over high heat. Cook steak for about 5 to 6 minutes per side (make sure your stove vent is on for this!). Move to a cutting board and allow to rest for about 10 minutes.

Reduce heat and add the bell pepper to the skillet (I added sliced onions as well). Cook for about 8 minutes.

Once the steak has rested, slice across the grain into strips.

Layer your tacos with steak, peppers, fresh cilantro, and sour cream and serve!

Feeds about 4.

