Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

Ugh… long day coupled with some icky, steamy Georgia weather did not really leave me in the mood to cook today. However, I already had two recipes picked out from the challenge. I kind of felt obligated too cook them since they were picked out and everything. I’m glad I did. They combine to make quite a tasty dinner. You know I wasn’t entirely in the mood to cook though, since I actually stuck to the recipe! Weird, I know.

All I added was some brown rice for a quick and tasty meal. This dinner got good reviews from both the rooms and my sweetie. I think the salmon will definitely become a regular occurrence here. The stir fry will probably get a bit of a make over before it comes back to the menu. I think it needed a little more oomph. I’ll probably add fresh ginger, garlic, and a little soy sauce and sriracha next time around.

Salmon with Sweet Chile Sauce (Cooking Light)

4 salmon fillets

1 tsp ground coriander

½ tsp salt

2 Tbs honey

1 Tbs lime juice

2 tsp soy sauce

1 tsp Sriracha

Green onions for garnish

Sprinkle fillets with coriander and salt.

Heat large skillet over medium-high heat and coat with olive oil. Add fish to pan, cook for about 4 minutes on each side.

Combine the honey, lime juice, soy sauce, and Sriracha. Drizzle over cooked filletes then sprinkle with green onions.

Asparagus and Shiitake Stir-Fry (Martha Stewart 2003)

1 Tbs sesame oil

1 bunch of asparagus, washed and trimmed

8 oz fresh shiitake mushrooms, cleaned and trimmed

1 Tbs sesame seeds

Heat oil over medium-high heat in a large wok, add sesame seeds to heating oil and allow them to toast lightly.

Add asparagus and mushrooms and sauté until tender. Serve hot.

