Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Ugh, why is it that everything always seems to catch up with us at once. This was a busy week and the one ahead is promising to be just as busy. However, there was still lots of cooking last week and even a few trips to the gym! Plus, the apartment has been blessed with lot of great homegrown produce recently. So I was quick to gravitate to the grilled zucchini and summer squash recipe on my cooking challenge list. It’s a super healthy side dish and it helped use up the plethora of squash in the fridge.

We also had a wonderful bunch of figs (we only used a few of them in the appetizer earlier this week). So those were turned into a killer fig-orange-balsamic sauce for the pork roast. It was a really tasty glaze, one I will definitely make again.

I can’t lie, I wasn’t that big a fan of the squash, but I’m pretty sure that is just because we sautéed it in the citrus dressing instead of grilling it. I would bet it would be delicious grilled. I’ll probably make it again when I have access to a grill. I’m giving you the version I cooked, but you can see the original from Cooking Light.

Grilled Zucchini and Summer Squash Salad with Citrus Splash Dressing (Adapted from Cooking Light)

2 Tbs orange zest

¾  c orange juice

½ c lime juice

3 Tbs honey

2 tsps olive oil

¼ tsp crushed red pepper

2 sweet onions, cut into large chunks

2 zucchini, cut into 4ths

4 yellow squash, cut into 4ths

Combine first 6 ingredients in a gallon-sized Ziploc bag. Put all the sliced veggies into the bag with the dressing and allow to marinate.

Put veggies and marinade into a large sauté pan over medium heat and cook for about 15 to 20 minutes. I like my squash a bit firm, so I only cooked it a little over 15 minutes.

Orange and Fig Sauce

1/3 c orange juice

¼ c balsamic vinegar

20 grinds black pepper

1 tsp rosemary, minced

2 minced jalapenos

15 figs, pealed and quartered

In a medium sauce pan over medium high heat, combine orange juice, vinegar, pepper and rosemary. Let simmer for 2-3 minutes. Add the jalapeno and figs to the pan. Using a fork to squish the figs will help speed the cooking process. Cook down until it’s a thick sauce.

