Tags

, , , , , ,

Ok, so I know that nothing about that headline is going to make you want to make this recipe. It was roomies choice in the cooking challenge. So of course it had to get made! The rooms and my sweetie both really liked this one. I was a little more ambivalent. I liked them well enough, but I really wasn’t in love with them. They had a good crispy exterior and the sauce was killer. Maybe they would have been better if I had used cornmeal. Not sure though. Like I said, rooms and my sweetie were really big fans of these. They inhaled them.

Fried Sardines with Lemon-Relish Mayonnaise (adapted from Dave’s Dinners)

Lemon-Relish Mayo

2 Tbs fresh lime juice

½ c mayo

1/3 c sweet relish (I went a little light on this one)

Combine all ingredients in a small bowl and stir to fully combine. Set aside.

Fried Sardines

2 (3.5 oz) cans sardines

½ c flour (added a dash paprika, black pepper, garlic powder)

1 egg

3 c vegetable oil for frying

Gently remove the sardines from the cans and lay out on a plate. Lightly coat the sardines with flour. Beat the egg. Gently dip the fish into the egg mixture. Then dredge in the flour again.

Lay the coated fish on a plate.

Heat oil in a large sauce pan over medium high heat until hot (about 350°). Gently dropped the sardines into the hot oil. Fry until thoroughly browned and crispy. Remove from the oil with a slotted spoon and transfer to a paper towel lined plate to drain.

Serve on a plate with the dipping sauce.

