Tags

, , , , , , ,

So… I’m not huge fan of chilled soups. But the rooms picked a few for the cooking challenge and I’m not about to walk away from the challenge! Even after a long day and lots of stress I decided to tackle it anyways. Well, to be honest the rooms made this while I worked on the tacos.

As far as I’m concerned, cold soups are lovely in small amounts, as an appetizer or a side. Unfortunately this soup didn’t change my feelings. However, it was very tasty. It made a lovely side to some fish tacos. We actually used it as a topping for the tacos. I’ve used the leftovers as a dip for tortilla chips, too!

Creamy Avocado Soup with Fresh Tomato Salsa (adapted from Chipotle)

3 ripe avocados

2 Tbs lime juice

2 c water

1 c soft tofu

Sprinkle salt

Dash cumin, coriander, black pepper, red pepper flakes

Puree all the ingredients together in a food processor and blend until smooth.

Top with the fresh tomato salsa.

Fresh Tomato Salsa

2 Tbs lime juice

½ tsp chipotle powder

1 lb tomatoes, chopped

1 small sweet onion, chopped

3 cloves garlic, minced

1 c cilantro, chopped

Combine all ingredients and mix thoroughly.

