Tags

, , ,

I am puppy sitting this weekend and am enjoying a brief moment of quiet (with 2 cats and 1 dog in the apartment it has been less then calm…). I though I might take the quiet moment to tell you about the last recipe that came up in the cooking challenge. You may have noticed I have a few recipes similar to this on my list. You can attribute that to my Sweetie having a thing for Asian food; Chinese’s in particular (although Thai is growing on him I think!). So, when he went through the cookbooks for my cooking challenge he picked out every Asian dish he came upon. Which is good, since I haven’t made much Chinese food up to this point. I am definitely expanding my horizons through this challenge.

I have also discovered that when you make your own sweet and sour chicken it is not the reddish-orange color that you get when you get it out at a restaurant. Mine was very brown thanks to the soy and Worchester. Not necessarily the prettiest dish (or the healthiest) on the face of the planet; but it was also very tasty! It also made a ton of food, about 5, possibly 6, servings. Yet again Ms. Crocker helped me create a really tasty dinner.

Sweet and Sour Chicken (adapted from Betty Crocker)

1 ½ lbs chicken breast, cubed

2/3 c flour

1 tbs powdered ginger

½ vegetable oil

1 can pineapple chunks, drained, juice reserved

½ c vinegar

½ c lite soy sauce

1 Tbs Worcestershire Sauce

2/3 c sugar

Ground pepper

1 green bell pepper, chunked

1 small onion, chunked

2/3 c baby carrots, quartered

2 ½ Tbs Sriracha

Mix a 1/3 c flour and ginger. Dredge chicken in flour mixture.

Heat oil over medium-high heat in a large wok, cook chicken in batches to allow even browning. Remove pieces and allow to drain once they’ve cooked thoroughly.

Wisk remaining 1/3 c flour into pineapple juice and 2/3 c water. Add pineapple-water mixture, vinegar, soy sauce, and Worcestershire to the oil in the wok (don’t drain the oil, sounds gross, I know, but just trust Betty). Bring to a boil, stirring constantly. Boil for a minute, add sugar, pepper, Sriracha, and pineapple. Combine completely.

Add bell pepper, onion and carrots. Cook for about 5 to 10 minutes. Add chicken and simmer for another 10 to 15 minutes. Serve over a bed of brown rice.

