Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Ok, so I’m not sure there is anything other then southern gumbo… if there is, I’ve never eaten it. But I do adore a good seafood gumbo. Probably due to the years of visits to New Orleans I enjoyed growing up. The time in Cajun country definitely influenced my cooking and love of peppery things.

This dish almost didn’t get made a few Sunday’s ago because of a busy weekend of puppy sitting and my perpetual laziness on Sunday’s. But I realized that if I went ahead and made it then I could freeze it for lazy days.

However, I always love having a good bowl of soup that I can just microwave for a healthy, fast and delicious dinner. Gumbo re-heats wonderfully if you happen to be stocking up your freezer. This was a really great version of gumbo.

Savannah Seafood Gumbo (Adapted from Paula Deene)

2 Tbs oil

4 Tbs flour

1 lg onion, chopped

3 stalks of celery, chopped

1 green bell pepper, chopped

4 cloves garlic, minced

2 c andouille sausage

1 c pulled pork shoulder

4 c chicken broth

1 ½ c water

½ c red wine

Heavy dash thyme, basil, parsley

2 bay leaves

Dash cayenne

1 can diced tomatoes with garlic

2 c frozen sliced okra

1 can crabmeat, drained

1 ½ c shrimp

In a large pot combine oil and flour. Cook over medium heat, stirring constantly, until it has browned to a deep peanut butter color. Add onion, bell pepper, celery, garlic, and andouille. Sauté for about 15 minutes, stirring periodically.

Slowly add the broth, water and wine. Season liberally and add the okra. Bring to a boil, lower heat. Cover the pot and simmer for about 2 hours.

Add the crab and shrimp and cook for another 15 minutes.

Serve over brown rice.

