Tags

, , , , , , , ,

The first football game of the season is just weeks away and I couldn’t be much more excited. While I’ve told you before I’m not a huge football fan, this doesn’t apply to my team! I get very excited about my college football team. In fact, I am a proud season ticket holder (I have a pair so I can drag my sweetie to the games)! And, since foot ball season is almost here I’m already planning my tail-gating food!

One of the best received dips in my repertoire is an avocado and black bean salsa. I never bring home leftovers and I have had more then one person ask for the recipe. The funny part is I recreated this dip from one I enjoyed at a little place Irish place called Pub 71 like 4 years ago. It’s not even on the menu there any more!

It is ridiculously easy to make and everyone will love it! I always serve it with hint-of-lime tortilla chips, but that’s mostly because they are my very favorite tortilla chips.

Avocado and Black Bean Salsa

1 can black beans, drained and rinsed

1 c frozen corn

1 small sweet onion, chopped

1 bunch cilantro, chopped

1 to 2 avocados, chunked

2 Tbs to a ¼ c lime juice (depending on how much you like lime juice!)

1 jalapeno, seeded and minced (if you like it spicy)

Dash cumin and coriander (if you so desire)

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl and mix gently, as not to crush the avocado pieces. Serve with tortilla chips.

Keeps for 4 to 5 days, if you actually have leftovers!