Tags

, , , , , , ,

What do you do after a long first day of getting oriented at a new job? Well if you had a weekend like I did, then you come home and cook up a big pot of potato soup. You know what, that’s exactly what I did.

I barely followed the recipe, which surprises you I’m sure. However, it came out super delicious. I’ll definitely be making this one again. The rooms and my sweetie really liked it as well. It got high ratings all around.  I would have liked to have some fresh jalapenos, but the pickled ones were good as well. This would also be great if you subbed the fresh garlic for roasted.

This was exactly the comfort food I was craving.

Sour Cream Potato Soup (adapted from Easy Gourmet)

2 ½ c potatoes, peeled and chunked

2 c milk

2 Tbs butter

1/3 c chopped onion

4 cloves garlic

Dash celery salt

¼ c sour cream

¼ c cream cheese

1 2/3 c water

1 bouillon cube

Dash black pepper

Top with cheese, bacon, jalapenos and scallions

In a medium sauce pan, boil the potatoes until they are fully cooked. Drain and pour them into a food processor.

Puree the potatoes, milk, butter, onions, garlic, celery salt, sour cream, and cream cheese.

Pour back into the pot and add the water, bouillon and black pepper. Cook for 10 to 20 minutes.

Top with cheese, bacon, jalapenos and scallions.

