Tags

, , , , , ,

What do you cook when you’re recovering from serious stuffiness? Well, if you’re slightly crazy and in love with Cajun food and spice then you make crawfish etouffee. It was exactly what I was craving and helped me kick the end of the cold. It was just the right amount of spicy. Plus, you have to love crawfish, even if they’re kind of hard to find here in Ga! I actually got lucky and found frozen crawfish tails in the freezer section of my Kroger. While the whole guy’s in the fish case may have been fresher, the frozen tails where much less labor intensive and less expensive to boot.

I definitely think of most Cajun food as comfort food. So, when I’m feeling under the weather, I’m even more inclined to whip up something with a Creole twist. My sweetie actually let me in the kitchen by the end of the week so I could whip this up.

Crawfish Etouffee (adapted from La Bouche Creole)

1 Tbs butter

1 Tbs olive oil

1 onion, chopped

1 bell pepper, chopped

4 stalks celery, chopped

4 cloves garlic, minced

3 Tbs flour

3 Tbs tomato paste

Dash basil, oregano, cayenne, black pepper, and seasoning salt

2 c crawfish tails

2 cups chicken stock

½ bunch parsley, minced

In a large pan over medium heat, cook onion, bell pepper, celery and garlic in the oil and butter for about 15 minutes. Stir in the flour and cook for another 10 minutes.

Add all the remaining ingredients, stir well and bring to a simmer. Cook for about 15 to 20 minutes.

Serve over rice.

