Tags

, , , , ,

I love a good curry, particularly Indian curry since I can never seem to replicate them at home. So I have done my best to follow the challenge recipes closely from my curry cookbook. With the recipes calling for some difficult (or impossible) to find ingredients, I can’t always follow to a t. However, this one really did remind my of a true Indian curry.

It was a bit on the overly spicy side and it came out a tiny bit watery, but the flavor was good. I’ve adjusted the recipe to compensate though.

The cookbook doesn’t specify the length of time to simmer the curry, but I’m assuming longer is better. I didn’t have all that long to simmer, but it turned out quite good anyways. Oo, and just a side note, the lamb was super easy to find at Kroger, which was nice.

Goa Lamb Vindaloo ( adapted from 50 Great Curries of India)

2 tsp cayenne

1 tsp cumin

6 whole cloves

1 tsp cinnamon

10 black peppercorns

2 Tbs minced fresh ginger

6 cloves garlic

1 Tbs tamarind pulp

4 tsp apple cinder vinegar

3 Tbs olive oil

1 onion, sliced

1 green bell pepper, sliced

1 lb lamb , cubed

3 c water

Pure the first 9 ingredients in a food processor.

Sauté the onions and peppers with the olive oil over medium heat for about 6 minutes. Add the spice paste and cook for another 10 minutes. Add the lamb and sauté for another 6 minutes.

Add the water and simmer for at least 25 minutes.

Serve over rice.

