Tags

, , , , , ,

I love a good salsa. It is probably one of my favorite appetizers/snacks So I’m not sure why I haven’t tried to make a true salsa until now. Now don’t get me wrong, I make my black bean salsa all summer, but it’s a tomato-less salsa, so I’m not sure it counts. So when I noticed that mango’s were on sale at Kroger the other day I remember we had a mango salsa in the challenge and bought them!

First off I would like to note that salsa is ridiculously easy to make. I’m not sure why it’s taken me so long to make it. And second, this recipe makes a lot of salsa! I had enough to fill that bottle and still have a bowl full to snack on! Finally, I did some serious adapting on this recipe. So, I’ll be giving you a further edited version because there were a few things I would have done differently in retrospect.

We just chowed down with chips, but I would bet this would be great over grilled fish or chicken.

Jalapeno-Mango Salsa (adapted from Roasting)

1 mango

1 onion

2 jalapenos

6 cloves of garlic

1 can diced tomatoes

½ bunch cilantro, chopped

2 – 4 Tbs lime juice

Pre-heat the oven to 475° and line a baking sheet with foil.

Cut the onion in half and lay cut side down on the baking sheet. Slice the meat of the mango from the seed and lay cut side down onto the baking sheet. Remove the stem from the jalapenos and place on the baking sheet. Add the unpeeled garlic cloves to the baking sheet put the baking sheet in the oven.

Bake for 20 to 30 minutes.

Allow to cool and chop all the items. Stir together with the diced tomatoes, cilantro and lime juice.

