Tags

, , , , , ,

I think I have told you before that my sweetie has a thing for Chinese food. Thus, I think I can safely say that this dish was a hit (I know he and I really enjoyed it, and the room’s wasn’t there to confirm). It was another dish he chose for the cooking challenge and is one I’ll want to create more often. I tossed it over brown rice and julienne veggies for a wonderful dinner. It came together pretty quickly, which is always nice for a weeknight dinner.

I actually stuck pretty closely to the recipe this time around. However, it could be made healthier by just sautéing instead of frying the chicken. While frying it definitely gave the chicken a nice brown and crisp exterior, I don’t think it’s worth the extra time or calories.

We served this up over some brown rice, with

Braised Ginger Chicken (adapted from A Taste of the World)

2 chicken breasts, cut into cubes

1 Tbs dark soy sauce

1 Tbs cornstarch

Peanut oil for frying

½ c water

1 ½ Tbs light soy sauce

1 Tbs balsamic vinegar

2 tsp Sriracha

1 Tbs powdered sugar

2 Tbs fresh Ginger, minced

4 cloves Garlic, minced

2 green onions, chopped

Combine the chicken, dark soy sauce and cornstarch, mix until the chicken is completely covered. Set aside and allow to rest for at least 10 minutes.

In a small bowl, whisk together the water, light soy sauce, vinegar, Sriracha, and sugar and set the sauce aside.

Pour 2” of oil into a wok and bring up to heat (I usually put mine over medium high heat and allow it to heat up for at least 5 minutes). Add the chicken in small batches, allowing it to get golden brown. Once it’s done, use a slotted spoon to transfer to a paper towel lined plate to drain.

Discard most of the oil, leaving about 2-3 Tbs in the wok. Return the wok to the heat and add the ginger, garlic and green onion. Cook for about 5 minutes. Return the chicken to the pan and add the sauce. Simmer for 10 to 20 minutes.

Serve over rice and enjoy.

