Tags

, , , ,

I am generally happy with the soy substitutes for dairy products. I even discovered a soy whipping cream at Harry’s out in Roswell the other day. However there is one place where I deeply lament my lactose intolerance: frosting. Cream cheese frosting is simply not the same when made with soy cream cheese. It doesn’t thicken up properly and it doesn’t even come close on taste. It is some thing that makes me mad every time I make frosting. Every. Time.

So, when it came time to make the Guinness cupcakes from the cooking challenge I was once again faced with the culinary failure that is soy cream cheese frosting. And, as always, I made myself crazing trying to make the frosting. I ended up using 2x the powdered sugar it called for and it was STILL runny (note the frosting running down the side of the cupcake below). I was about ready to chuck the whole bowl of frosting at the wall. I didn’t though. I just gave up, frosted the cupcakes and got zero complaints from all those who ate them.

I’m not sure what the moral of the story is other then maybe I should quit trying to make cream cheese frosting. Oo, and the cupcakes were quite pleasant. Although I’m not sure you could really taste the Guinness. My sweetie really liked them, and the rooms wanted them to be chocolaty-ier.

Guinness Cupcakes (Dave’s Dinners)

12 oz of Guinness

2 ½ c flour

2 c sugar

¾ c cocoa powder

3 eggs

¾ c sour cream

½ vanilla soy milk

½ c oil

1 ½ tsp baking soda

Frosting

1 lb powdered sugar

9 oz cream cheese

1/3 c heavy cream

Pre-heat the oven to 350°.

In a large bowl, mix the Guinness, milk, and oil. Beat the eggs in one at a time. Whisk in the sour cream.

In another bowl whisk together the dry ingredients. Gradually mix the dry ingredients into the wet. Mix until smooth.

Pour the batter into 24 buttered cupcake tins (I always use silicon cupcake liners, they’re amazing).

Bake about 25 minutes.

For the frosting, beat the cream cheese until light and fluffy. Slowly add the cream, whipping thoroughly. Slowly add the powdered sugar.

Top the cool cupcakes with the frosting, dust with a little cocoa powder.

