Tags

, , , ,

I’m a food blogger, so obviously I really like to eat. Being a woman, I am also hyper-conscious of my weight. Like every other woman on the face of the planet I would also love to lose 10 pounds.  However, things like Guinness cupcakes and cheese kind of kill that for me.

When it comes to food I just don’t have the will power to give up the things I love just to lose a little weight. Now this may change later on in life. But for right now I would much rather enjoy a decadent, creamy, home-made mac and cheese then fit in the next size down.

So pretty much this whole rant was really just to brag on the delicious mac and cheese I created the other day. It is wonderful and highly fattening. It’s wonderful paired with barbecue, but good enough to stand alone.

For my fellow lactose-intolerant folks out there aged cheese is the answer. It really does seem to make a difference.

My Mac & Cheese

1 box elbow macaroni, al dent

3 to 4 cups shredded cheese (I used a mix of aged white cheddar and aged sharp cheddar)

1 tbs olive oil

½ c water

½ to 2/3 c beer

3 Tbs soy sour cream

2 eggs

Dash ground black pepper, garlic powder, red pepper flakes

2/3 c bread crumbs

1 tbs butter

Pre-heat the oven to 400°.

In a medium sauce pan combine the olive oil, water, beer, and soy sour cream and bring to a low simmer over medium heat. Slowly add the cheese, stirring until it is completely combine.

Put cooked pasta into a large bowl and pour the cheese mixture over top. Mix thoroughly and then add the eggs one at a time. Pour into a oven safe dish.

Melt butter, mix with the bread crumbs, and top the pasta.

Bake for about 25 minutes or until the top gets brown. Serve warm (and enjoy).

