Tags

, , , , ,

Before I show you the pictures I need to ask you not to judge the dish purely by the photo. Even with the artistic help of K, my sweetie’s sister-in-law it only looks moderately edible. But trust me, it’s quite tasty.

I’ll start this by confessing that I did not buy oysters for this dish and I think that was a mistake. However, I did add some andouille sausage and that was a good choice! Also, the recipe kind of confused me regarding how they intended you to layer everything. So, I just didn’t… However, if you want a layered version I would suggest you thinly slice the eggplant and boil it salt water for about 10 minutes. Then you can layer it just like a lasagna. I think it would be quite pretty.

I’m going to give you oyster involved recipe, with my additions and method of combining.

Oysters Eggplant & Mushroom Casserole (adapted from La Bouche Creole)

2 medium eggplants

3 dozen oysters with their water

5 Tbs butter

1 bunch shallots, chopped

½ onion, minced

½ red bell pepper, chopped

½ lb mushrooms, sliced

4 cloves garlic, minced

Healthy dash cayenne, basil, thyme, black pepper

2/3 c bread crumbs

1 c grated cheese (cheddar or pepper jack is probably best)

 

Slice the eggplants in half and roast for 30 to 45 minutes in a 400° oven, until cooked through. Set aside to cool.

Dump the oysters and their water into a large sauce pan and cook over medium high heat until the edges begin to curl. Remove the oysters with a slotted spoon and set aside. Add 3 tbs butter to the hot pan and add the mushrooms, shallots, onion, bell pepper and garlic. Cook for about 10 minutes.

While that cooks chop the oysters well, toss with 1/3 c bread crumbs and a splash of Tabasco. Set aside.

In another pan melt the remaining butter and combine with 2/3 c bread crumbs.

Spoon the eggplant out of its skin and combine with the oyster mixture, mushrooms, and 1/2 c cheese in a large bowl. Season with the spices and mix thoroughly. Pour the mixture into an oven proof baking dish. Top with the remaining cheese and buttered bread crumbs. Bake in a 400° for 25 to 30 minutes.

