Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’m working on getting back on track with my crazy cooking challenge. I managed to cook at least 3 last week, including the one I’m about to share (I included Sunday in the count). However, I’ve been so bad this month I need to be cooking 5.62 (and yes, my sweetie created a function in my super awesome spread sheet which tells me how many  recipes I need to cook each week) a  week. But any who, I’ve already told you all about last Sunday’s dinner, so now let me share last Tuesday’s: Tuna “Chop-Chop” Salad.

The name is a bit misleading as this is more stir-fry them salad. The recipe called for all kinds of methodical steps and work, and of course in true me fashion I just kind of threw it all in a pan and cooked. And guess what, it came out great! Served it over soba noodles* for a quick and easy dinner.

*side note about the noodles: once they cooked and drained I tossed them back into the hot pan with a mixture of honey, soy sauce, cilantro, Sriracha, garlic, and sesame oil. Just tossed it and let the heat of the pot mull it all together. They were good!

 

Stir-Fry Tuna Chop-Chop Salad (adapted from Gourmet Every Day)

1 lb tuna steak, chunked

1 zucchini, sliced

½ bunch asparagus, sliced into 1” chunks

1 handful of baby carrots, quartered

1 lg handful green beans, sliced into 1” chunks

1 onion, sliced

2 tomatoes, chopped

4 cloves garlic, minced

1 Tbs fresh ginger, minced

¼ c fresh cilantro, minced

2 Tbs soy sauce

1 ½ tsp Sriracha

1 tsp honey

Dash dried basil, sesame seeds, sesame oil

 

Heat a tsp olive oil, sesame oil, and sesame seeds over medium high heat in a wok for about 5 minutes. Add the tuna and cook for about 3 minutes. Add all of the remaining ingredients and cook for about 15 minutes.

Serve over rice or soba noodles.

