Tags

, , , , , , ,

So… I have been pushing to make sure I get all of my recipes cooked in time and that means either cooking at least one recipe a day from now until January 1 or cooking lots in one day. Thus my multi-recipe Sunday’s the last few weeks! So far it’s helped keep me from getting too far behind. Plus it makes for a fun evening of cooking with the rooms!

This is two of the great dips I made the other day. They were just two of the four appetizers rooms and I created. She took on the other two (which I’ll post later) while I worked on the fondue and hummus. We ate ourselves into oblivion while we cooked and toped it all off with a great dessert! All in all a very good way to end the weekend.

The fondue was delicious and we devoured it quickly. The hummus was tasty, but honestly I found the adobo to be overwhelming and a bit too much. I don’t know that I’ll add much if I make it again.

Hummus with Roasted Garlic and Poblano Chiles (adapted from Chipotle)

1 head garlic

1/3 c olive oil

1 lg Poblano chili

1 can chickpeas, rinsed and drained

1/3 c tahini

1 tsp smokey chili powder

1 tsp cumin

1 tsp minced chilies in adobo

4 Tbs lime juice

Peal off the papery outer layer off the garlic, drizzle with olive oil, and wrap in aluminum foil. Roast the head of garlic in a 450° oven for 30 to 45 minutes. Allow to cool and the pop the roasted cloves out of their skin.

Roast the Poblano chili under a broiler until the skin bubbles. Place in a heat-proof bowl and cover for 10 to 15 minutes. Peel skin from the chilies and remove the seeds.

Puree all of these ingredients in a food processor until smooth. Serve with pita chips, carrots and celery.

Green Fondue (adapted from Fondue)

4 cloves garlic

1 c dry white wine

1 Tbs lemon juice

1 ¼ lb mild aged cheese, shredded

1 Tbs cornstarch

¼ c minced fresh parsley

2 Tbs minced green onions

2 tsp dried tarragon

Dash cayenne pepper

½ tsp white pepper

Rub a heavy pot with a clove of garlic. Crush the garlic and cook with wine, brining just to a boil. Add lemon juice and reduce heat. Toss shredded cheese with cornstarch, and slowly add to the pot stirring constantly. Add herbs and seasoning. Cook, stirring until everything is completely combined and smooth. serve with veggies, apples, pear, and toast.

