Tags

, , ,

Considering my ridiculous sweet tooth, I’m really not sure I still have so many dessert recipes left in the cooking challenge! However, as I was perusing my “still need to cook” list I realized that almost a 1/3 of the remaining recipes are sweet. So I guess my sweet tooth is just going to get indulged.

So when I was planning last week’s Sunday dinner I decided to throw in some chocolate turnovers for good measure. They were delightful! The combination of orange and chocolate was really quite pleasant and they were just ridiculously simple to make. In fact, the most difficult step was waiting for the puff pastry to thaw. Yes, I used frozen puff pastry, and was pleasantly surprised at how good it was!

I would definitely recommend making these. In fact, the rooms and I have already made a second batch, only the second time around we added orange soaked crasins.

Chocolate Orange Turnovers (adapted form Gourmet Every Day)

3 – 4 oz high-quality semi-sweet chocolate, chopped

1 tsp freshly grated orange zest

1 sheet frozen puff pastry, thawed

1 egg, lightly beaten

Sugar for sprinkling

 

Pre-heat the oven to 425° and line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Stir chocolate and orange zest together in a small bowl.

Cut the pastry dough into 4 equal squares and brush the edges with the egg. Equally divided the chocolate between the 4 squares and fold them closed into triangles. Seal edges by lightly pressing with a fork.

Brush the tops of the turnovers with egg and sprinkle with sugar.

Bake for about 12 minutes or until golden brown.

